workshop paper and wire in Munich

beispielarbeiten_3bilder_1000xIf you want to create with paper and wire the upcoming workshop at the MachWerk München (Schulstraße 1, Neuhausen) is for you! On Saturday, 25th of November, we will combine paper and wire to create delicate wall pieces, small objects or christmas decoration. Apart from paper and wire we will also use wallpaper paste and – depending on what you like – yarn, beads, found objects etc.. Participants are shown techniques for creating floral wreaths and little wire houses. My main aim for the day will be to give your creativity space and support you in realizing your own wire and paper projects.

The workshop starts at 9.30 a.m. and ends at 4.30. p.m. There will be a lunch and coffee break.

I will bring along wire, paper, wallpaper paste and tools. All you need to bring is an interest in experimenting. And – if you want – also

  • paper you like to work with: e.g. tissue paper, wrapping paper, book pages. For working with wallpaper paste the paper should be absorbent
  • your own wire working tools (pliers), if you have one
  • wire of your choice. Simple binding wire (ca. 0,6 mm thick, iron) is available in the workshop. If you like to work with coloured or thin wire you get those at craft shops.
  • wallpaper paste takes some time to dry. all purpose adhesives are a faster alternative.
  • additional materials of your choice: beads, buttons, yarns, natural materials ,…
  • pen and paper for making sketches
  • a container to transport your creations home


  • cost per person: 65 EUR

    number of participants: minimum 4, maximum 12.

    Please email is@ines-seidel.de to register. I will send you payment details and further information. Registration is valid after payment has been made.
    texturen_3_bilder_1000x

    ways to wear the news

    ways to wear the news. Ines Seidel. Photo: Emmy Ann Horstkamp
    Last week I have been walking my newspaper dress through Munich. Originally I made it for the installation “The Talk” earlier this year. Walking along the river Isar and across Marienplatz, I became a piece of news myself. I lingered around some places for a while, reading a daily newspaper and ripping out headlines to mark the spot where I had been. Emmy Ann Horstkamp, founder of MunichArtists.com followed me with her camera. She will publish a video of the intervention after the summer. More of her pictures can be seen here.
    ways to wear the news. Ines Seidel. Photo: Emmy Ann Horstkamp.
    ways to wear the news. Ines Seidel. Photo: Emmy Ann Horstkamp
    ways to wear the news. Botschaften aus Schlagzeilen. Ines Seidel. Photo: Emmy Ann Horstkamp
    ways to wear the news. Ines Seidel. Photo: Emmy Ann Horstkamp

    between solid and fleeting

    between solid and fleeting. II (detail). drawing on photo print. Ines Seidel

    between solid and fleeting. II (detail). drawing on photo print


    Last preparations for the coming exhibition between solid and fleeting. Together with the painter Brigitte Yoshiko Pruchnow I will show recent works at Kulturpavillon am Romanplatz, Munich. I am curious to see what will emerge in the dialogue between my photography and objects and Brigitte’s paintings. I am also looking forward to alter the space of the former library. The opening takes place on June, 18 at 6.30 pm. The exhibition is open on 19th and 20th of June from 1 to 6 p.m. and on 21st from 11 a.m to 5 p.m.
    zwischen fest und flüchtig - Ausstellung Ines Seidel und Brigitte Yoshiko Pruchnow

    preparations: GDR books go selfemployed

    preparations for my coming exhibitionThe preparations for my next exhibition are reaching the final ascent. Save the date: The vernissage will be on March 12, 2014. I will show my latest altered books Combinat 56, the creative coworking space in Munich.
    story during metamorphosis I and II - Ines SeidelGDR books go self-employed. That is the title of my solo show which will feature paper works made from books printed in the GDR. Some of the books have been part of my childhood, others have been literally saved from being thrown into the trash can. 25 Jahre after the fall of the Berlin wall these books are leaving their passiveness and reinvent themselves. The break open and leave, they stop the torrent of words and embody their message with gestures and patterns. They reconciliate with their past and make suggestions for the future. These books have a lot in common with me and the citizens of the former GDR. But the experience of becoming independent connects them to all those who find themselves at a turning point in their development.

Tagesworkshop Papier und Draht in München

beispielarbeiten_3bilder_1000xWer gern selbst mit Papier und Draht gestalten will, ist am 25. November 2017 im MachWerk München (Schulstraße 1, Neuhausen) genau richtig. In einem Tagesworkshop verbinden wir diese flexiblen Materialen miteinander, lassen filigranen Wandschmuck, kleine Objekte oder Weihnachtliches entstehen. Ausser Draht und Papier kommen auch Kleister, Garn, Perlen oder Naturmaterialien zum Einsatz, ganz nach Lust und Laune. Projekte zum Nacharbeiten werden vorgestellt, sie dienen als Ausgangsbasis für das Erschaffen eigenständiger Kunstwerke. Neben dem Kennenlernen verschiedener einfacher Techniken geht es an diesem Tag vor allem darum, der eigenen Kreativität Raum zu geben.

Der Workshop beginnt 9.30 und endet 16.30 Uhr. Mittags- und Kaffeepause sind eingeplant.

Draht, Papier, Tapetenkleister und Werkzeug stehen zur Verfügung. Lust am Experimentieren sollten Sie mitbringen. Gerne ausserdem auch:

  • Papier nach Wahl: ausser Zeitungspapier eignen sich Seiden-, Krepp- und Geschenkpapier, Buchseiten,… Für die Arbeit mit Kleister sollte das Papier saugfähig sein.
  • wenn vorhanden: eigenes Drahtwerkzeug
  • Draht nach eigenen Vorlieben. Im Kurs steht einfacher Bindedraht aus dem Baumarkt (ca. 0,6 mm dick), zur Verfügung. Wer es bunt mag, findet in Bastelläden eine große Auswahl an farbigen Drähten. Auch dünnere Drähte können gut eingesetzt werden.
  • Kleister braucht eine Weile zum Trocknen. Wenn es schneller gehen soll, bieten sich Allzweckkleber an
  • Zusätzliche Materialen nach Wahl: Perlen, Knöpfe, Garne, Naturmaterialien,… der Fantasie sind keine Grenzen gesetzt!
  • Papier und Stifte für Skizzen
  • eventuell Transportbehältnis für die fertigen Werke


  • Kosten pro Person: 65 EUR.

    Teilnehmerzahl: mindestens 4, maximal 12.

    Zum Anmelden bitte eine Email an is@ines-seidel.de. Ich sende Ihnen die Zahlungsinformationen und weitere Informationen schriftlich zu. Die Anmeldung ist erst mit Überweisung des Kursbeitrags gültig.
    texturen_3_bilder_1000x

    Ways to wear the news

    ways to wear the news. Ines Seidel. Photo: Emmy Ann Horstkamp
    In einem Kleid aus Zeitungspapier, das für die Installation „The Talk“ entstanden war, bin ich letzte Woche in München unterwegs gewesen. Zwischen Deutschem Museum und Marienplatz wurde ich raschelnd selbst zur Nachricht. An einigen Orten habe ich mich länger aufgehalten, Nachrichten gelesen und den Platz mit Schlagzeilen aus einer Tageszeitung markiert. Fotografiert und gefilmt hat mich unterwegs Emmy Ann Horstkamp, Gründerin von MunichArtists.com. Nach der Sommerpause gibt es von Emmy das Video von der Aktion. Einige weitere Fotos hat sie hier veröffentlicht.
    ways to wear the news. Ines Seidel. Photo: Emmy Ann Horstkamp.
    ways to wear the news. Ines Seidel. Photo: Emmy Ann Horstkamp
    ways to wear the news. Botschaften aus Schlagzeilen. Ines Seidel. Photo: Emmy Ann Horstkamp
    ways to wear the news. Ines Seidel. Photo: Emmy Ann Horstkamp

    zwischen fest und flüchtig

    Zwischen fest und flüchtig. II (Ausschnitt). Zeichnung auf Fotodruck. Ines Seidel.

    Zwischen fest und flüchtig. II (Ausschnitt). Zeichnung auf Fotodruck.


    Letzte Vorbereitungen für die kommende Ausstellung zwischen fest und flüchtig. Gemeinsam mit der Münchner Malerin Brigitte Yoshiko Pruchnow zeige ich aktuelle Arbeiten im Kulturpavillon am Romanplatz, München. Ich bin gespannt, was sich aus der Kombination der verschiedenen Darstellungsformen – Fotografie und Objekte einerseits, Malerei andererseits – ergibt. Und ich freue mich darauf, im Raum dieser ehemaligen Bibliothek eine wandelfreudige Atmosphäre ausbreiten zu können. Die Eröffnung ist am 18.6. um 18.30 Uhr. Besichtigt werden können die Arbeiten auch am 19. und 20. Juni von 13 bis 18 Uhr, sowie am 21. Juni von 11 bis 17 Uhr.
    zwischen fest und flüchtig - Ausstellung Ines Seidel und Brigitte Yoshiko Pruchnow

    Vorbereitungen: DDR-Bücher machen sich selbständig

    Vorbereitungen für die nächste AusstellungDie Vorbereitungen für meine kommende Ausstellung gehen in die heiße Phase. Die Vernissage ist am 12. März 2014 im Combinat 56, Münchens kreativem Coworking-Büro.
    Geschichte während der Metamorphose I und II - Ines Seidel
    DDR-Bücher machen sich selbständig.
    Unter diesem Thema zeige ich Papierarbeiten aus Büchern der DDR. Teilweise stammen sie aus meiner eigenen Kindheit oder wurden gerade noch vor der Mülltonne gerettet.
    25 Jahre nach der Wende treten die Bücher aus der Passivität und erfinden sich neu: Sie brechen auf, beenden den Wortschwall und verkörpern ihre Botschaft mit Gesten und Mustern. Sie versöhnen sich mit ihrer Geschichte und machen Vorschläge für die Zukunft.
    Diese Bücher haben viel mit mir und den Bewohnern der DDR gemeinsam. Doch die Erfahrung des Selbständigwerdens verbindet sie mit allen, die sich freiwillig oder unfreiwillig an einem Wendepunkt finden.