news shape at “2 x 2 m”

news shape at Dachau Palace. Ines Seidel

news shape at Dachau Palace. Ines Seidel


The annual palace exhibition of the association of artists in Dachau has just been opened. I had been invited as one of 21 artists to show one piece that relating to the theme “2 x 2 m”.
To comply with the rules, I filled a 2 x 2 m space with newspaper bowls. 251 of them were needed. As I wanted to connect these news containters into one form, I stitched them together and created a news shape. Its dimensions are roughly 1,5 x 1 x 0,5 m.

Plakat_2x2m_klein
The news shape, paintings, installation and video art can be seen at Palace Dachau until Sept 3 2017. Many thanks to Künstlervereinigung Dachau for an exciting exhibition in a special location.

Naked Lines

Aktzeichnungen, genäht.

Aktzeichnungen, genäht.

I am fascinated by the language of the human budy. Through drawing I repeat the gestures and the expression of the model in my own voice – sometimes hesitant and loose, sometimes energetic. Every technique adds a new dialect and subtly alters the message. For the group exhibition “naked lines” I used (among other media) wire and thread for drawing. A bunch of thanks to the many visitors and to the eleven other artists who contributed to an exciting exhibition!

Aktzeichnungen, mit Draht. Ines Seidel

Aktzeichnungen, mit Draht.

Procreate Project

On the 15th of December the Procreate Project will launch in London. The initiative has been founded to support and network with international mother artists. More than 100 artists contribute to the launching exhibition at the Women’s Art Library at the University of London. Until 18th of December the works are shown in specially made photozines. I am represented with the photo series “Our Baby”.

Our Baby. self with news. Ines Seidel.

Our Baby. self with news. photography.


The five piece installation “One” will also be shown during the launch event. It is currently on the way to London.
ONE. Ines Seidel.

ONE. pigment transfer, wire, ink on concrete.

I am the chicken and the egg,
I am the shell and the crack.
I am the nest. I leave the nest.
I am in pieces that do not rhyme.
I am in pieces that rhyme with
one.

between solid and fleeting

between solid and fleeting. II (detail). drawing on photo print. Ines Seidel

between solid and fleeting. II (detail). drawing on photo print


Last preparations for the coming exhibition between solid and fleeting. Together with the painter Brigitte Yoshiko Pruchnow I will show recent works at Kulturpavillon am Romanplatz, Munich. I am curious to see what will emerge in the dialogue between my photography and objects and Brigitte’s paintings. I am also looking forward to alter the space of the former library. The opening takes place on June, 18 at 6.30 pm. The exhibition is open on 19th and 20th of June from 1 to 6 p.m. and on 21st from 11 a.m to 5 p.m.
zwischen fest und flüchtig - Ausstellung Ines Seidel und Brigitte Yoshiko Pruchnow

green stuff, from today

group exhibition green stuff. among other pieces you can see my concrete-paper-plants. Yesterday we were installing our works and today they can already be seen: “Green Stuff” opens the doors of the Old Jailhouse in Freising. My concrete-paper-pots have their premiere and I am also showing my book installation “the story goes on” for the first time in public.
the story goes on - book installation at the Old Jailhouse Freising. Ines Seidel
Other artists showing their works in the group exhibition are Andrea Schuster (Illustration), Dietrich Ebersbach (textile collage), Gabriele Strehlau (painting), Leander Dolisni- Wennige (sculpture), Marion Birkholz (Mixed Media) und Reinhold Adscheid (photography).
textile collages by Dietrich Ebersbach at the Old Jailhouse
The exhibition rooms on the first floor are open on Wed and Thur from 2 to 6 p.m., on Friday from 4 to 8 p.m. and on the weekend from 11 a.m. to 7 p.m. One of us artists will always be present.
The vernissage takes place on Friday the 13th of June at 6 p.m.
view into the exhibition - Ines Seidel

transfiguration, coming Sunday

Gärtnerhaus, MylauOn Sunday the 11th of May my exhibition “transfiguration” will be opened. have installed my fairy tale objects just yesterday at the enchanted gardener’s house in Mylau, Vogtland.

The cottage from 1826 was home of the groundkeeper and gardener of the Mylau castle. Ten years ago the Fischers bought the rundown building and renovated it with passion and a taste for art. They turned the house into a cosy place for cultural events and private parties.
entrance from gardenI am happy to show my paper objects in these rooms that are so full of history and character. My collages and installations have been made with fairy tale books, twigs, wool and packaging cardboard. They deal with the question how the Fabulous and the Magical can be conserved and transformed if there were no more fairy tale books. You can wonder about this every coming Sunday afternoon, when the Fischers open the door of the gardener’s house and serve coffee and cake with art.
invitation: transfiguration

Transfiguration

woven story pattern with text from "The Emperor's new clothes"); detail - Ines SeidelUntil end of April my exhibition about GDR books going independent can still be seen in Munich. But I am already preparing my first show in Saxony. At the bottom of Mylau Castle, in the renovated house of the castle gardener I will show paper objects, wall hangings and collages that are related to fairy tales.
Under the topic “transfiguration” I combine pieces that have been shown last year in my fairy tale exhibition in Zeulenroda with new work. One of the new pieces is the woven story with text from “The Emperor’s new clothes”. As in the tale by Hans Christian Andersen, my pattern has the magic quality to be invisible to those who are not good. So everyone plagued by self doubt but otherwise not visually impaired should come to Mylau.
The vernissage is on Sunday, 11th of May at 2.30 p.m. and everyone is welcome!
woven stories by Ines Seidel

Nachrichtenform bei „2 x 2 m“

Nachrichtenform im Dachauer Schloss. Ines Seidel

Nachrichtenform im Dachauer Schloss. Ines Seidel


Gerade wurde die jährliche Schlossausstellung der Künstlervereinigung Dachau eröffnet. Ich war eingeladen worden, als eine von 21 Künstlerinnen und Künstlern eine Arbeit zum Thema „2 x 2 m“ zu zeigen.
Daher war eine Fläche von 2 x 2 Metern mein Ausgangspunkt. Genau 251 Schalen aus Zeitungspapier waren nötig, um die Fläche zu bedecken. Damit die in Schalen gehaltenen Nachrichten wieder eine organisches Ganzes ergeben, habe ich sie zusammengenäht.

Plakat_2x2m_klein
Bis zur Finissage am 3. September kann man Nachrichtenform besichtigen – neben Malerei, Installation und Videoarbeiten. Vielen Dank an die Künstlervereinigung Dachau für eine spannende Ausstellung in einem besonderen Raum.

Nackte Linien

Aktzeichnungen, genäht.

Aktzeichnungen, genäht.

Mich fasziniert die Sprache des menschlichen Körpers. Die Gesten und den Ausdruck des Modells spreche ich zeichnend auf meine Weise nach – mal zögernd, mal gestikulierend oder druckvoll. Jede Technik verändert den Dialekt und die Botschaft. Für die Gruppenausstellung „Nackte Linien“ im Alten Gefängnis, Freising habe ich unter anderem mit Draht, mit Garn und auf Glas gezeichnet. Vielen Dank an die zahlreichen Besucher und meine elf Mitzeichner für eine spannende Ausstellung!

Aktzeichnungen, mit Draht. Ines Seidel

Aktzeichnungen, mit Draht.

Procreate Project

Am 15. Dezember startet in London das Procreate Project. Die internationale Initiative hat sich auf die Fahnen geschrieben, Künstlerinnen zu unterstützen und zu vernetzen, die Mütter sind. Den Auftakt bildet eine Ausstellung in der Women’s Art Library an der Universität London. Bis 18. Dezember sind dort Werke von über 100 Künstlerinnen zu besichtigen, in eigens gedruckten Fotozine Heften. Ich bin mit „Our Baby“ vertreten.

Our Baby. Selbst mit Nachrichten. Ines Seidel.

Our Baby. Selbst mit Nachrichten. Fotografie.


Die fünfteilige Installation „One“ wird ebenfalls im Rahmen der Eröffnungsausstellung gezeigt. Sie ist gerade auf dem Weg nach London.
ONE. Ines Seidel.

ONE. Pigmenttransfer, Draht, Tusche auf Beton.

I am the chicken and the egg,
I am the shell and the crack.
I am the nest. I leave the nest.
I am in pieces that do not rhyme.
I am in pieces that rhyme with
one.

zwischen fest und flüchtig

Zwischen fest und flüchtig. II (Ausschnitt). Zeichnung auf Fotodruck. Ines Seidel.

Zwischen fest und flüchtig. II (Ausschnitt). Zeichnung auf Fotodruck.


Letzte Vorbereitungen für die kommende Ausstellung zwischen fest und flüchtig. Gemeinsam mit der Münchner Malerin Brigitte Yoshiko Pruchnow zeige ich aktuelle Arbeiten im Kulturpavillon am Romanplatz, München. Ich bin gespannt, was sich aus der Kombination der verschiedenen Darstellungsformen – Fotografie und Objekte einerseits, Malerei andererseits – ergibt. Und ich freue mich darauf, im Raum dieser ehemaligen Bibliothek eine wandelfreudige Atmosphäre ausbreiten zu können. Die Eröffnung ist am 18.6. um 18.30 Uhr. Besichtigt werden können die Arbeiten auch am 19. und 20. Juni von 13 bis 18 Uhr, sowie am 21. Juni von 11 bis 17 Uhr.
zwischen fest und flüchtig - Ausstellung Ines Seidel und Brigitte Yoshiko Pruchnow

Grünzeug, ab heute

Gruppenausstellung Grünzeug. Unter anderem mit meinen Beton-Papier-Gewächsen. Gestern war der Aufbau und ab heute kann man sie sehen, die Ausstellung „Grünzeug“ im Alten Gefängnis Freising. Dort haben meine Beton-Papier-Gewächse Premiere und auch die Buchinstallation „Die Geschichte geht weiter“ rankt erstmals in einer Ausstellung.
Die Geschichte geht weiter - Buchinstallation im Alten Gefängnis Freising. Ines Seidel
Weitere Künstler in der Gruppenausstellung sind Andrea Schuster (Illustration), Dietrich Ebersbach (Textilcollage), Gabriele Strehlau (Acryl), Leander Dolisni- Wennige (Metallskulptur), Marion Birkholz (Malerei/Fotokunst) und Reinhold Adscheid (Fotografie). Es ist sehr spannend zu sehen, wie die Werke ganz verschiedene Aspekte von Grün in den Mittelpunkt rücken und miteinander einen Dialog eingehen.
Textilcollagen von Dietrich Ebersbach im Alten Gefängnis
Die Ausstellungsräume im 1. Stock sind Mittwoch und Donnerstag 14 bis 18 Uhr geöffnet, am Freitag von 16 bis 20 Uhr und Samstag/Sonntag von 11 bis 19 Uhr. Einer von uns sieben Künsterlinnen und Künstler ist immer anwesend.
Die Vernissage findet am Freitag, den 13. Juni ab 18 Uhr statt.
Blick in die Ausstellung - Ines Seidel

Verwandlung, kommenden Sonntag

Gärtnerhaus, MylauAm kommenden Sonntag, den 11. Mai findet 14.30 Uhr die Eröffnung meiner Ausstellung „Verwandlung“ statt. Und zwar im Gärtnerhaus im vogtländischen Mylau. Ich habe diesen besonderen Ort gestern kennengelernt, als ich meine Ausstellung installiert habe.
Das Häuschen aus dem Jahre 1826 war früher die Wohnstätte des Burggärtners. Vor zehn Jahren übernahm Familie Fischer das Haus, setzte es wieder instand und verwandelte es mit viel Liebe und einer Passion für Kunst in einen Ort für kulturelle Veranstaltungen und Feiern.
Eingang vom GartenIch freue mich, dass ich in diesen Räumen, die voller Geschichten stecken, meine Papierobjekte zeigen kann. Ich habe Märchenbücher verarbeitet, aber auch Wolle, Zweige und Verpackungskartons. Im Mittelpunkt steht die Frage, wie das Märchenhafte bewahrt werden kann, wenn es keine Märchenbücher mehr geben würde. Wundern kann man sich darüber dann immer Sonntag Nachmittag, wenn das Gärtnerhaus Ausflügler zu Kaffee und Kuchen mit Kunst einlädt!
Einladung: Verwandlung

Verwandlung

Gewebte Geschichte (Muster mit Text aus "Des Kaisers neue Kleider"); Ausschnitt - Ines SeidelNoch bis 30. April kann man meine Ausstellung mit DDR-Büchern, die sich verselbständigen, im Combinat56 in München sehen. Inzwischen bereite ich meine erste Ausstellung in Sachsen vor. Im Kulturgarten am Gärtnerhaus in Mylau, nahe der schönen Göltzschtalbrücke, zeige ich Papierobjekte, Wandbehänge und Collagen mit Märchenbüchern.
Unter dem Titel „Verwandlung“ versammle ich Arbeiten, die letztes Jahr in Zeulenroda zu sehen waren und einige neue Stücke. Dazu gehört auch das Webmuster mit Text aus „Des Kaisers neue Kleider“. Wie schon das Gewebe in dem Märchen von Hans Christian Andersen hat mein Muster die magische Eigenschaft, unsichtbar zu werden für alle, die nicht gut sind. Wer in dieser Hinsicht an sich zweifelt, aber sonst keine Sehprobleme hat, sollte also unbedingt vorbeikommen!
Die Eröffnung ist am Sonntag, den 11. Mai um 14.30 Uhr und alle sind herzlich eingeladen!
Gewebte Geschichten - Ines Seidel